Weekly Wrap up July 16th

Well it’s that time again. Time for the weekly wrap up. I feel like the slump is over and I am happy to say that I managed to finish up three books this week.

Humans of New York by Brandon Stanton ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️  – This is the one I mentioned in my pervious post about nonfiction recommendations. It is quite simply and beautifully, pictures of random people in New York. Some pictures only show where they were taken while others had short stories about the situation or their lives to follow. I really enjoyed all the different types of people: diversity in every single possible way.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson ⭐️⭐️  – Famous piece of nonfiction work, that was turned into a movie, essentially about a drug infused road trip to Las Vegas. I do believe it was supposed to show the drug culture, and how crazy it gets. But to me it was just him talking about hallucinations and bad ideas he had while on every drug he could think of at the time. I didn’t like it and don’t really know why it was written.

Fever Dream by Samanta Schweblin ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️  – This book was sooooo good. I honestly don’t want to say much of anything about it; It’s short and hard to stay spoiler free. I’ll just say that it is about a woman trying to recollect what caused her illness. It is being told while she is experiencing a fever. This book is unsettling and that is the best word I can think to explain it. It’s neither horror, nor thriller. But it sort of feels like one. She keeps the pages turning, but if you are looking for a story to be wrapped up all nice at the end, this is not it. I recommend everyone read it so that we can discuss it, because I’m curious as to others’ thoughts on it.

 

Not something that I have read but a small project, I made a TBR Jar. I’m slightly backlogged with library books and couple of review copies right now. But as soon as I get those done I will be picking from the jar to finally make a dent in my massive amount of unread books I have sitting at home.

I hope to finish up Long Daze at Long Binh this week, post reading slump this may be attainable. Then I hope to read two more books: Trouble Purse Sued by Marianna Heusler and Savage Joy by Robert Dunn.

img_4101

Anyone want to guess how many unread titles are in the jar….there are no prizes. Just pure glory:)

19 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap up July 16th”

  1. Okay so I didn’t want to be “spoiled” so I skipped all of the other comments and I want to guess…100 books?? 😛
    Also, humans of new york sounds quite good – I have seen some stories on Facebook like that, and I really enjoyed reading them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

