Weekly Wrap Up July 9th

Hello everybody. My weekly wrap up is not great…..Especially since I didn’t do one last week. I have hit a major reading slump here. It’s not that I don’t know what to read or can’t pick a book, I just don’t feel like picking anything up right now. If you have any suggestions let me know, it feels wrong not to be reading constantly.

I did read one book this week…. Sort of, it was a silent graphic novel.

The Arrival by Shaun Tan  – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️½ This is the story of an immigrant, he left his wife and daughter back home to start a new life in a new country. There are no words in the novel, which I think was perfect for showing how hard it would be for someone moving to a new place and not knowing anyone or the language. The artwork is just beautiful. It is really a touching story, that I loved, having only lived in Canada it helped me to understand how hard and stressful it must be for people who come over here.

Well that’s all I have to tell you guys about for this week. I am currently “reading” Long Daze at Long Bin. I am really enjoying it when I pick it up. I also have a stack of books on my bedside table incase I find the urge to read. UGHHHHH so frustrating, please tell me you guys know what I am talking about.

 

12 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up July 9th”

  1. The Arrival was one of my favorite reads last year or the year before (whenever it was that I read it). I love how I could easily follow the story though there weren’t any words.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely know the struggle! It has happened to me so many times and each time seems harder than the last… You described my feelings exactly: I WANT to read, but I don’t actually feel like it at the same time. I don’t know, it’s weird. But I really don’t think we should feel bad about it. It doesn’t help breaking us out of the slump and will only make it worse, in my opinion.
    Sometimes, the best option is to let it go and just focus on other stuff. It’s okay to take a break from reading, blogging, or whichever you’re needing a break from. Maybe The Great Library series could help, though? 🙂
    This graphic novel sounds hauntingly beautiful. The whole silence concept is genius and a great way to make the reader connect with the characters. So glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

