The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I finally decided that I wanted to do a review for this book. Obviously I loved it, but I wanted to be sure I wasn’t just repeating what everyone else had to say.

This is the story of a 16 year old African American girl who witnessed the murder of her friend by a cop. Starr grew up and lives in a run down neighbourhood, that is primarily African American, but she goes to an upperclass prep school that consists primarily of white students.  The story then follows her decision whether she should speak up or stay quiet, after the murder makes it into the news.

This is a great book, and I am even more impressed that it is a debut novel. I don’t usually read a lot of YA, but this was very well written and so relevant with what is going on right now. For me this book stood out because in most YA books, the family is usually not present. In THUG, her relationship with her family was so real for me. With a little bit of humour mixed in it because, yes, your family tends to be dorky, even when bad things are happening. Angie Thomas showed great family dynamics in this book. People fight and talk things out, and throughout the whole book Starr had a great support system.

Another good point was that there was a romantic relationship in the book, and it was healthy unlike these weird teenage relationships that are often in YA. No love triangles, or drama. The relationship was in the background. The main focus of the book was her deciding if she should stand up and fight for her rights.

As a white girl from Canada, this book helped me understand what African Americans go through. I have not been afraid of cops, and I couldn’t imagine needing to learn how to act in order to stay alive when getting pulled over. This culture in the book was quite new to me. I have read articles and seen this on the news, but it’s not the same as reading about someone’s fear in these moments.

Well obviously I will read whatever Angie Thomas comes up with next. But are there any others you guys could recommend for me?

12 thoughts on “The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas”

  1. This review is everything I thought of this book too! Great job. My comes up in a couple weeks, I hope it wont be too repetitive! Loved this book so much I bullied my boyfriend into adding it to his TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

