She’s So Fine by Jaimee Campbell

She's So Fine

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I received a free copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This is a 190 page book with some major punch. I’m never sure if I can get a full thriller out of a smaller novel. But this one delivered.

Quick little plot recap for you guys. This book focuses on the main character Samantha, a pretty stereotypical (or so it would seem) married mother of two. An event digs up some harsh memories she has been trying her hardest to keep at bay. Instead of fighting as she has been for years she embraces the feelings, using them to right some wrongs. All the while trying to keep it out of her home life.

As you can see with the five star rating up there, I loved this book. I don’t give out a ton of five stars, and on this one I was going a little back and forth between 4.5 and 5. After it sat with me for a couple of days and I realized how the character had stayed with me well after finishing the book, I decided I had to give this five.

The main character Samantha, was very interesting. The book is very much so in her head, and her thought process. That was a very captivating aspect for me, you see that there is a dark past lingering in there and she tries to hide it. You only get glimpses before she shoves it all back down. It is a slow reveal throughout the book, more and more details from her past keep sneaking by her. Until she decided to embrace it all and use it to stop the hurt she is seeing.

This book felt very well thought out. The story lines are delicately intertwined with each other. Even though you know her thought process, a lot is kept in the dark, and keeps you guessing. Samantha can also be a bit of an unreliable narrator at times. She goes with her gut, which can involve some snap judgements, but I love an unreliable narrator. I don’t want to be able to predict the ending.

The ending was not predictable for me at all. There was one character reveal that could have been a little convenient to make for a good twist. But I don’t think it took away from the story. I think that is the only criticism I can possibly come up with and that’s a bit of a reach.

Overall if you are looking for a really good, fast-paced thriller, I would absolutely recommend this book!! I think I read it in about two sittings, just couldn’t seem to put it down. Oh and short chapters, which I am a huge fan of.

Have you guys read any thrillers about someone making things right again? Or about a vigilante? 

12 thoughts on “She’s So Fine by Jaimee Campbell”

  1. Great review! Definitely not easy to successfully write a book with under 200 pages. I believe I’ve been through some stories where the protagonist wanted to make things right, but I can’t think of any titles right now though haha As for vigilantes.. well.. I know one superhero that comes to mind. 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  2. Such a short book, yet it absolutely delivered! I love when that happens 🙂 So many monster books out there that can’t produce the same impact, and it’s such a shame.
    I don’t read that many thrillers… But I’m hoping to change that!
    Great review! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

