Weekly Wrap Up May 28th

Hello everybody, I feel like I have been slowing down on my reading. But it’s summer so I’ll take some sunshine over more books right now. I think I’m still recuperating from a very very…..Very long winter. So I have two books to quickly mention this week.

Little Nothing by Marisa Silver ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – Once again I am having a problem giving a recap of this book, I might suck at this….Or as I would like to believe this is a hard book to describe. The novel is set in a unknown country, but judging by the names somewhere in eastern Europe or Russia, in the early 1900’s. The story follows to life of a girl that is born deformed, and then magical transformations in and out of human form. This is my first book that I would call magical realism and I really liked it. I enjoyed that the magic is just there almost in the background, how it happens or why isn’t really relevant to the story. It focuses on her changes as a person, not just physical. I was completely engrossed and I hope to give this genre another try. I hope to do a full review shortly…ish.

Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – This is a modern classic so many of you may have read this one. It is about a man who has an IQ of 70, who undergoes a medical procedure to up his mental capacity. It then follows how he changes along with the changes in abilities and knowledge. I loved this book, I read some parts of it when I was in high school for class, I liked what I read back then and I loved it now as an adult. Watching the development of his character is so sad, it’s almost tragic. I will be using this book for my On This Bookish Day post next moth if you guys are interested in that.

I am still currently reading What If? by Randall Munroe, I read a little bit every day, and it’s still really fun. Since I literally just finished Flowers for Algernon, I haven’t picked my next book yet, any suggestions?

16 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up May 28th”

  1. Algernon. Oh man, that book almost made me cry. It was so fantastic.

    Once I finished it, I think I either read a SF book or a graphic novel, just to make a complete break in my mind so I wouldn’t be comparing the book I was currently reading with it. Because no books could stand that kind of comparison…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just looked up and added Flowers for Algernon to my TBR. I have not read it, but it sounds like an absolute must! MY reading has also been slowing down tremendously. The increased heat wears me down and seems to be triggering more vertigo. So reading feels like it is at a stand still 😦

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I am not sure if it does with everyone? I seem to be very sensitive to the heat though.. I am sure it is a combo of piling it on the chronic fatigue and multiple symptoms. I managed to stay out in it a bit 🙂 I just have to pace myself haha. I am like an ice cream cone.. slowly melting.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

