Reading Types

Hello everybody, I have been noticing something that I find a mixture of interesting and funny. I know everyone has their own style when it comes to reading, whether it by genres you like, frequency, speed, whatever it may be. But what I have noticed in my family is the way people see themselves as readers and the way they actually read (judged by me).

I’ll start with me.

The obsessive reader. I may be similar to most of you that have blogs, I read everyday no exceptions.My boyfriend Matt likes to make fun of me when I bring a book to go grocery shopping….You never know when you might be stuck waiting. I give myself goals and push myself to read more in volume and diversity.

The average reader. This most people. They read when the mood hits or for a book club. A lot of times they are looking at best sellers lists. Or perhaps when I hound them to read something I think is amazing. I would guess these people read 10 plus books a year.

The sleepy reader.Β Remember the boyfriend I mentioned earlier, Matt, he is the reason this category exists. Always saying they “should” read more. But he picks up a book and in less than 10 pages he will be snoring…..Also no exceptions.

The retired reader.Β You would think I mean that people retire have lots of time now so they entertain them selves with reading, nope not for this group. These are the busy people that used to read probably quite a bit. But now there is always something else to be done so their books new and old sit on a dusty shelf. They have for the time being retired from reading. This would be my moms group.

The distracted reader. This group also exists because of Matt, you’re going to feel like you know him by the end of this post. The people that stop to talk while reading, either about the book or anything else that happens to pop into their mind. I would say that Matt can’t make it through one page without saying something to me or checking his phone. Because yes his e-mail is that important…..on his days off. Maybe that is why he is so tired after 10 pages.

What do you guys think, do you agree with my reading groups? Are there some that I missed? Small family so not to many groups.

27 thoughts on “Reading Types”

      1. Exactly! Every time I go out and don’t take my book, thinking “I won’t need this, I’m only doing X”, then of course it turns out I could have used a book. Le sigh…

        Liked by 1 person

  1. One of the things that really struck me when I was a child was how frequently adults would tell me, “I used to that, but now I don’t have time.” Sometimes it was reading; sometimes it was other hobbies or things they seemed to have enjoyed at one point. I was baffled by this, and I did really know whether this was the way adulthood was–no one had time to do anything they really liked anymore–or if it was something one could overcome. Now that I’m an adult (though perhaps not quite as busy as other adults with families and all that), I’ve determined you have to make time for things you really want to do. I hope I’m never “too busy” to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, you make time for what is important. So many people say they don’t have time to read then spend 3 hours every night watching tv. I’m not saying its wrong it’s just different priorities, most likely different ways to relax.

      Like

  2. Hahahah fascinating how you were able to spot all these groups within your family! I’m definitely an obsessive reader too.. seems like us bloggers were born to be in that category. It’s almost.. impossible.. to leave the house without a book on me! I also feel like I can sometimes be a distracted reader, but sometimes I wonder if it’s not just the book that can’t manage to hold on to my attention or its just me who needs a break from reading (weird.. when reading.. is a break for a lot of us hhahaha). Great post! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha Matt sounds like the worst reader ever XD (No offense!) And yeah, I can clearly picture him in my head now, doing anything but reading πŸ˜›
    I can be an obsessive reader, but these days I feel more like a retired one… Sigh. Some days I’m also the sleepy one LOL
    Great post, once more! Very accurate and fun ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome article, in my family there exists another category of readers πŸ™‚ my dad buys lots and lots of books but never reads them, i think the farthest he goes is only reading the synopsis …lol maybe he is a retired reader….as for me am an obsessive reader….I love reading lots of books at the same time..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha my mom does that too, she used to read and seems to still want too so she’s buys them and then usually I end up reading them.
      I’m not great at reading multiple books at the same time once I start one I want to get it finished. Unless it’s a graphic novel or maybe short stories.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. OH DEAR I totally am with ya on the “Obsessive Reader” I read everywhere and anywhere. If I don’t have a book in my purse or with me at all times I feel so weird and almost as if I’m traversing through public naked! Additionally, I would call myself an “escapist” reader – a reader who loses herself completely in a book for ours on end and completely forgets reality and obligations (homework, work, mealtimes).
    Great discussion post! Thanks for sharing. Happy reading πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah I hear you, feels wrong to go somewhere without a book. That will always be the time when you have a chance to read it too. I think I move from one type to another sometimes. But I always come by to obsessive haha

      Like

  6. I wish I was the obsessive reader but most likely I’m the average reader! Around 30 books per year which is quite low for book blogging I think, but I simply can’t enjoy a book if I pick it up right after finishing another. Like getting hungover with every book. Great post, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just read what you and as much as you want. Blogging is all for fun anyways, I used to read like 20-30 books a year then I was laid up for quite while and got into it more. But don’t make yourself read , then you won’t enjoy it anymore πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

