Weekly Wrap Up April 30th

Time for another weekly wrap up. I actually feeling alright with this week’s reading, considering I have been fighting my slump all week.

My Life On The Road by Gloria Steinem ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – As most of you may know this is a memoir of the woman rights activist and writer Gloria Steinem. This was a really well written book, very interesting. I like to think I know quite a bit about the movement for women’s rights, but this gave me a much more in depth view. I really liked her anecdotes, she saw so much and was so involved.

Naruto Vol.7 ⭐️⭐️⭐️ – This is a manga series about ninjas. My boyfriend got me hooked on it now I want to know how it ends. Little did I know, it has 72 volumes. Not much to say about the plot on these, but they are fun.

A Clockwork Orange ⭐️⭐️⭐️ – A modern classic about a dystopian future with extreme violence. This novella was hard for me to rate. Simply put….it was weird. It made an interesting point, to what extent do we go to “fix” someone, and the repercussions. The book was a little violent for me, but the slang helped so that it wasn’t as graphic.

The Grownup by Gillian ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – A “psychic” visits a old home to read the aura, and to help cleanse the house of a ghost. Turns out she might not have been brought to the house for the reason she was led to believe. I went into this book knowing absolutely nothing, which is pretty much what I would recommend for anyone looking at this one. I really liked this: it was short and a mystery and it was nice to read a bit of mystery again.

Saga Volume 5 & 6 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – I don’t want to spoil anything since this is part way through a series, so I won’t say much about the plot. But this is a story of a family and a war between two worlds. This is the first graphic novel series I have tried and it’s really good. Not one I would find the need to review individually, but it was a great way to get sucked into the genre. Also quite a bit of adult content, just a heads up.

A Monster Calls ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – A dark story of a 13 year old boy with a seriously ill mother, and monster that keeps visiting at the exact same time. Like everyone else, I loooooved this book. It was amazing. The copy I read from the library was the illustrated edition, and that really added to whole experience. I don’t even know how to describe how I feel about this book. It made me cry and only one other book has ever made me cry…I know, made of stone. I think everyone should read this no exceptions.

That is all the reading I did this week, all pretty short, but I felt productive. Right now I have started The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, and so far it’s really good, so I can’t wait to finish that. Then I’m planning on reading More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera.

Have you guys read any of these books? What have you been reading this week/ month?

9 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up April 30th”

  1. I am glad you still managed to find some appreciation in A Clockwork Orange as it does raise a very interesting point. I feel the slang cushions the graphic details a bit as well. This is one of my faves 🙂 But I certainly know it will not be ideal for all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You read some FANTASTIC books! So glad to see how much you enjoyed the destructive and tear-jerker that A Monster Calls is!!! Loved that book. Also love Saga!! I have yet to read volume 5, 6 and 7, but I can’t wait to fix that!! A Clockwork Orange is among my favourite books too. Totally understand the weirdness of it, but maaaaan did I love the style, the ideas and I ADORED the movie adaptation too (do you plan on watching it, or do stay away from them?). Hope you read even more amazing books in the days to come! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I sick at watching movie adaptations, I don’t stay away in purpose, I just watch very few movies. More of a tv shoe type girl. Or reading of course. I think A Clockwork Orange is a book that requires some contemplation almost, like it will stick with me, but I don’t think I’m fully appreciating yet, if that makes sense.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

