Weekly Wrap Up April 23rd

Time for another weekly wrap up. So I have three books for you guys today, still not a ton of reading this week, but I feel like a slump might be coming on, so I keep switching books. Trying to fight it off but it seems to be a loosing battle.

What I read this week:

🍁Winter Cranes by Chris Banks ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – I really enjoyed this collection of poetry, it was nice to read some Canadian poetry. The descriptions felt Canadian, if that makes sense. He described the scenery perfectly. Not all the poetry was just describing the out doors, it seems there is a little bit of everything in there. I have written a full review I just need to edit, I should link it back when I’m done……. but I’ll probably forget.

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – This graphic memoir was really good, I know it has gotten a lot of hype over the years. I would say it is totally worth it. It’s simple and great all at the same time. There is a great mixture of funny and serious. I think everyone should give this a try. My full review here.

George by Alex Gino ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – My first five star review in a very long time. As many will already know this is a middle grade book. About a transgender kid named George who wants to play Charlotte in the school play Charlottes Web. This book is amazing, it also lives up to the hype. As long as you are aware it is a middle grade book going in so you can expect the simple writing I think everyone will enjoy this book. I do plan to review this one for sure!!

That’s all I got done for this week, and right now I am currently reading My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem, not sure if I can continue with it right now because of the pending reading slump, we will see.

What are you guys reading, any great finds for me?

21 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up April 23rd”

  1. Maybe it is time to pick up something small like a novella or possibly take a brief reading break for a day or two? Sometimes this is what helps me when battling a slump. I am currently reading Six Stories and The Woman in Black. Both are wonderful so far and not very hefty in size which is nice since I am also very slowly tacking It by Stephen Kind haha.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok well to be fair there is a lot of back and forth as to what classifies a title as a novella (page count, word count, etc.)

        Here a few of my favorite shorter stories or books that come to mind:

        A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

        The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

        Animal Farm by George Orwell

        Any by Stephen King (he has a few)

        The Alchemist
        by Paulo Coelho

        I know there are so many more, but hard to think of off the top of my head 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hmmm.. well now I am on the fence about my recommendation haha. It is a classic though, so hopefully you feel like you take something away from it. The invented slang takes a chapter or two to adjust to also. Maybe I should have mentioned it as well. Let me know!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome 🙂 hmm it’s harder to think of one off the top of my head now you mention it 😉 Yellow Wallpaper is a favourite of mine. And I can also really recommend Notes From Underground or Turn of the Screw (though they’re unusually dense for novellas) More of a YA one is Kindred Spirits- which is particularly good if you like Star Wars. Hope that helps!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

