Fun Home : A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel

Fun Home

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This book has been on my TBR for a very long time. I finally picked it up from my library, yay me working on my TBR.I have yet to review a graphic novel of any sort, but this one is a graphic novel. Although I enjoy reading graphic novels, I don’t usually find the need  to review them. Entertaining but I don’t always have any strong feeling other than “that was fun”.

This is the story of a girl, growing up with her dysfunctional family. Alison describes her relationships with her family. But for the most part her relationship with her dad….Which is not great. She also goes into some depth, about her coming to terms with her sexuality. In a family and a time when it wasn’t common place to either experiment or be completely open about being gay.

This book is soooo good. It has the perfect mixture of very serious with some what humorous. She goes through her childhood, and what it was like realizing that she is different in certain ways. She like to dress like the boys, she likes to keep her hair really short, and can’t stand the girly stuff being pushed on her. I was really interesting to see how she read up on lesbians, just trying to figure out what it was she was feeling. How she comes to terms with her sexuality, and starts to realize it’s just how she is, and that it’s ok.

I also liked that she acknowledged the fact that she’s looking back in a diary from her childhood and that it might not be the most reliable source for facts. The whole thing I found to be reminiscent of the graphic memoir Persepolis. Obviously the stories are very different, but the mixing of funny and serious, and it being written from a woman’s point of view made them feel similar to me.

I’m not sure why this was four star read for me and not five. I just didn’t get that oh my god this is amazing feel while I was reading it. Sometimes it’s just a gut thing for me.

I think I could recommend this to anyone really. It has some tough subject matter, but it is just so well done. I would say this is probably for a more mature audience.

Have you guys read this book? Or are there other graphic memoirs I should check out? 

9 thoughts on “Fun Home : A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel”

  1. That sounds pretty good. I get what you mean when you say you never get that o my god I have to review this feeling with graphic novels. I don’t think I had that with anything other that Maus or Fables. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

