Weekly Wrap Up April 16th

Time for my weekly wrap up. So compared to last week it’s fair to say that this week kind of sucked. For a little glimpse into my life, I was busy for the last week pricing out and planning our vacation in September. Seems simple enough buy it seemed to take my boyfriend and I many many hours and conversations, but I think we are finally ready. But for my reading this week:

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – I am glad I read this classic. As you guys may have noticed, not a lot of classics come up on my currently reading list. This one was really good. I really liked the way he described the character, he created a very vivid story in just 124 pages. I always fear boredom with classic literature, and I can safely say that was not an issue for this novella.

One Hundred Shadows by Hwang Jungeun translated by Jung Yewon ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – Probably not so well know. This is a fantasy book, set in the slums of Seoul. It follows the awkward new relationship of Eungyo and Mujae. Where the shadows start to rise of the people in the slums. Leaving you to infer what is happening with their shadows. I really liked this novel it is short, but really well written. To be completely honest, this isn’t a very busy books, but man there is an atmosphere. Her writing is just beautiful, you become enveloped in their world. Partly just enjoying the writing and story and partly figuring out what exactly is going on.

So that is it for my reading accomplishments this week, two short books. But they were both four star reads for me. Since I literally just finished up One Hundred Shadows I don’t exactly have a currently reading. But I did just pick up two books from the library so I think I pick those up next. I got Winter Cranes poems by Chris Banks, CanLit yay 🍁. Also Fun Home A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel. Well that what I have next in line.

Let me know what you guys are reading this week:)

12 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up April 16th”

  1. I’ve been meaning to read A Christmas Carol for years (hopefully it’ll actually happen this December). I just finished The Shadow Land by Elizabeth Kostova, and am about to start Beartown by Fredrik Backman.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m super glad to know A Christmas Carol is a good read 🙂 I have that book on my nightstand but haven’t gotten to it yet. Your 4 stars might make me pick it up sooner 🙂 2 books a week isn’t so bad 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

