Weekly Wrap-up

So I thought I would try doing a weekly wrap-up. I was going to post this yesterday but I dot distracted by Netflix. So I’m off to a great start. I read quite a few books, but I don’t review them all. I just don’t alway have anything to say, especially if it was a 3 star book.

This week went alright. Felt like I spent a lot of time reading, since I had no internet for a few days. Thanks to a bored puppy and some cords within his reach.

What I’ve read this week:

 Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari – ⭐️⭐️⭐️  This is a book about the pros and cons of dating in the modern world. Lots of stats, research and focus groups. This book is pretty good, I found it quite interesting. Plus if you have seen the show Master of None on Netflix, you know there will be some humour thrown in. As I was reading it I could hear his voice in my head, which makes it more entertaining. The info in it felt a little repetitive, but it was over all pretty interesting. It may have been a bit more interesting for me because my boyfriend and I met through online dating, but I would recommend this book.

I haven’t decided if I am going to review this one let me know if you guys are interested.

One Day We’ll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter by Scaachi Koul – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️  This is her story of growing up in Canada with Indian parents. I is a mixture of funny stories and very serious issues. I really liked that it touched on the funny parts of growing up with parents that immigrated, and the different expectations. But then she talks about the very serious issues, of drinking, rape culture, sexism, and much more. I think this is a great book for men and women, plus Canadian author so I’m a fan of that for sure.

An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield – ⭐️⭐️⭐️ 1/2 Chris Hadfield is a Canadian astronaut, really well known to us. His book is basically how he became an astronaut and some general life advice. Over all I thought this book was pretty good, there is some really interesting stuff space and the program. Especially in part 1 I found some of the info to be a bit repetitive, but over all worth a read.

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G.Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona(Artist) -⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️  A muslim teenage girl suddenly gets powers. I really like that they used a muslim girl. It just felt like a nice change too me. Then again I don’t read a lot of graphic novels. I think the second one will be better, this one felt like quite a bit of set up. But I really enjoyed this one and would recommend it if superhero stuff isn’t usually your thing. Give this one a try.

For my currently reading I just stared A Christmas Carol, but given that it is only 124 pages I should be done it in no time. Next I plan on picking up One Hundred Shadows by Hwang Jungeun, traslated from Korean. I actually tried out a book box that I ordered and it was one of two in there so I am excited to give it a shot. Plus I am always trying to read more translated works. That’s the plan anyways feels almost like a TBR.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-up”

  1. I was going to read A Christmas Carol this past holiday and simply never did. Not sure why. Given the size I feel I have little excuse. I am glad to see you are back online and hope the puppy has something different to keep him/her occupied 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

