On This Bookish Day: April 10th-The Great Gatsby was Published

Hello bookworms,

Welcome back to On This Bookish Day, where one day of the month I will honour an important literary date in history. I’ll tell you a little about the author and review one of their books.

So, on this bookish day:

April 10th- The Great Gatsby was published-1925

The Great Gatsby is considered to be a literary classic and a great American novel. When it was published in 1925, it wasn’t a great success. It received mixed reviews and only sold 20,000 copies in it’s first year. Turns out that it didn’t become popular until World War II, when it was sent over seas to the soldiers and then became part of American high school curriculum. Sadly he did not live to see it’s popularity grow. The Fitzgeralds moved to Long Island in 1922, after the birth of their child. He was inspired by the parties he attended while visiting the north shore. He then started planning it out in 1923. Fitzgerald wrote 18,000 words, but edited most of it out, which then became a short story “Absolution” published in 1924.

A Few Random Facts:

  • At the time of its publication in 1925, the novel cost just $2.
  • Zelda Fitzgerald wrote that the silent film based on the novel was “ROTTEN and awful and terrible and we left.”
  • The poet who “wrote” the novel’s epigraph never actually existed. He was a character in Fitzgerald’s previous book, This Side of Paradise.

So this one had a super short bit of history, but there isn’t quite as much to say about a novel. But since it was the day that book was published I wanted to talk about the novel not the person, well this time I did.

The Great Gatsby

★★★★☆

This one was a four star read for me. It wasn’t quite as good as I had been expecting, but just because it seems that everyone gives it five stars. I thought it was going to blow me out of the water. Don’t get me wrong it’s a really good book, I just have issue with hyped up books, so I probably did this to myself.

I found the beginning of the book to be pretty boring and it had me a little worried. The start is all about people spending money on big parties. The people are just so superficial, they only care about things and where you’re educated and who you know.

**Spoilers ahead**

Once the story moved on and it was about Gatsby and Daisy, I was much more interested. I’m not someone who reads love stories, but it wasn’t about that. For me it was so hard to read about Gatsby, he just tried so hard. Daisy just care less it seemed, she says she loved him, but really she wasn’t interested when he didn’t have any money. Then she just seemed to give everyone the run around. After all that he went through and taking the fall for the car accident, I felt so bad for him when it ended with his death.

***Spoilers done***

I can totally see why this became a classic. The way it describes the 20’s. Also as I found out with the bit of research I did, the inspiration that he saw from the mixture of “old money” and “new money”.  I really enjoyed this novel and I hope to read some more of his work.

What did you guys think of The Great Gatsby?  

4 thoughts on “On This Bookish Day: April 10th-The Great Gatsby was Published”

  1. It’s been a while since I have read it but I liked how I felt sorry for daisy for being in a loveless marriage with an unfaithful husband and then slowly her true colours emerged and I felt that they deserved each other.
    Sometimes I felt that gatsby’s love was pure, selfless and unconditional because it didn’t matter how badly daisy behaved or treated him, his love didn’t waver.
    Other times I felt that he equated possessing her with success and he was so focused on being accepted as an equal to the elite class that she became an object, which was fitting.
    Daisy and her husband were both into frivolous entertainment and when partying lost its novelty they moved to playing with people’s lives as a distraction from their boredom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

