Milk and Honey

milk-and-honey

★★★★★

This must be one popular book. I had to wait two and a half months for this to come in at the library. But I will admit it was worth the wait. I am now planning on buying my own copy one day as well. Me being super cheap I will wait for a sale.

This collection of poetry is divided up into four: the hurting, the loving, the breaking, the healing. Not much of a recap I can give you here, I’m still trying to figure out how to review poetry.

So first off it opens with the hurting. This part, was very real and very raw. She describes some very horrible and unfortunately very true experiences for some. I could feel the hurt reading this part, I could see the trauma that this would cause, as well as the anger that this would bring up.

It then jumps into the loving. Even in that part I felt like it moved well. It starts off talking about the love between parents and children, then being in love. It was a nice break, moving into something a little lighter and happier. The emotions to me were definitely just as strong, they were just on a happier note.

Moving into part three: the breaking. This part is probably the one that I “got” the most. I’m not sure how to explain this except, I found myself saying : “wow, that’s so true” to myself while reading. It’s more the sad truth, but not the traumatic sad like in the hurting. It’s more of a that’s life and it sucks but it happens, kind of sad/truth.

Then flowing into the healing. This was by far my favourite part, because it was the inspirational one. It was like I could feel her strength while reading it. And I loved that. It just goes to show that after all the crap you may have gone through, you can still keep going.

I loved this collection, as with anything that is a collection, some I liked more than others of course. But the whole feeling of the book was just great for me. I found some to be a little too short as if it was an inspirational quote you may have read on your Facebook feed that morning. But overall I thought it was great, very easy for me to read, not so abstract as to sit there figuring it out. I could just read, feel and experience.

 

Have you guys read this collection? Or do you have any other poetry collection recommendations for me, as I am new to exploring this.

8 thoughts on “Milk and Honey”

  1. I’ve always wondered how I would review a collection of poems when I get around to them. I feel like you’ve done well for this particular one though! I’ve read some excerpts of Milk and Honey and had similar reactions to you: “That is so true.” I might honestly give this a try some day (if I find a copy somewhere). Great review! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Like

Leave a Reply

