African-American History Month Rant

Hello bookworms,

This one is going to be a little different from my usual posts, but I thought it was something that could use discussion. I’ll also do a tentative TBR for February.

Okay, so for the rant part. Last year on Booktube and when I was just reading blogs I remember seeing a lot of black history month TBR’s or African-American literature recommendations. This year I have seen two on Booktube and one or two on the blogs. Not that I think this is mandatory or anything, or even that you should make yourself read books because of the month. I just really enjoy it when people make up lists for black history month, or just talk about their contributions to literature. I like the discussions they bring.

I guess it isn’t even a rant, because I’m not mad or annoyed, I guess I’m just curious as to why there seems to be the sudden drop this year. I have never done anything in the past for black history month from a literary point of view, but I have never really done a TBR before either. So for this year I decided to do one up. I’m not going to lie I had to look up old videos to find some good recommendations. I have never picked a book based on race. I usually didn’t even know the race of an author.

So for my African-American history month reading list I have chosen quite a few and I’ll see how many I can actually get through.

  • Long Walk To Freedom by Nelson Mandela
  • Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • We Should All be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
  • I Know Why The Cage Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
  • The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
  • Go Tell it on the Mountain by James Baldwin
  • For Coloured Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow is Enuf by Ntozake Shange’s

Anyone who would like to join me, or maybe even do a buddy read is more than welcome to join in. Some of those I have mentioned are on order so they won’t be here for a week or two.

10 thoughts on “African-American History Month Rant”

Leave a Reply

