Hold Your Own by Kate Tempest

hold-your-own

★★★★★

I am fairly new to the poetry world, but I have to say that I am becoming a huge fan. I probably won’t be very analytical, since I don’t really know what I am talking about, but I can tell you that I loved this collection of poetry.

The collection is broken down into four parts: Childhood, Womanhood, Manhood and Blind Profit. It centres around the blind prophet Tiresias, the poetry seems to link the ancient greek mythology with modern day. Or could be described as a modern retelling. She pretty much touches on everything: youthfulness, sex, love, community, PTSD, bullying. There just seems to be something for absolutely everyone in here.

This poetry will bring a lot of different emotions with it, some will make you smile, and other could make you cry. Kate Tempest has a way of touching on many emotions, while keeping a sort of simplicity to it. I love that this poetry isn’t abstract, you don’t have to sit there an analyze it. Anyone can pick it up and just experience it!

This book got my first five star review of the year, and it has definitely earned it. I would urge everyone to pick this up and give it a try. Even if you don’t think you like poetry, or have no idea where to start. I am new to this world and am glad to say that I am enjoying it so far.

Does anyone have any suggestions on where I should go next in the poetry universe? I was thinking Milk and Honey next since I have only heard great things so far.

4 thoughts on “Hold Your Own by Kate Tempest”

  1. I’m adding this to my TBR! Love the review 🙂 Yes, I would definitely recommend Milk and Honey. I recently read and reviewed it, if you wanna check out my review on my blog… but I gave it five beautiful stars! And I’m not really a huge poetry fan. But it struck something inside of me. And it sounds like this one did the same for you, so I will definitely be reading this one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I read your review one of the reasons I want to read that one next!! I wouldn’t say I loved every poem, but I liked them all and just absolutely loved others. The first one I felt was too long but once I moved forward there was some very beautiful writing. I hope you enjoy!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

