On This Bookish Day: January 1st- J.D. Salinger is born

Hello fellow bookworms, I have decided to start a new monthly posting. I’m going to call it On This Bookish Day (incase you hadn’t got that from my oh so subtle title). So the idea is that one day of the month I will honour an important literary date in history. I’ll tell you a little about the author and review one of their books. Or at least that is the plan at this stage of the game. Just on a side note I haven’t seen this on any blogs as of yet, but that doesn’t mean someone hasn’t already had the idea, I am not trying to steal it if it already exists.

So for my post for On This Bookish Day:

January 1st- J.D. Salinger is born, 1919

So a little about the man. Salinger as many know was an american writer, he was raised in Manhattan, and started by writing short stories while he was in high school (pretty impressive). He is most well known for Catcher in the Rye, many read it in school as part of the curriculum, I on the other hand did not. He has had a total of 5 books printed, all of them short story collections, except for the famous Catcher in the Rye. He was at one point considered the most important American writer since WWII, and from what I can tell it’s because his book got people talking. Catcher in the Rye is a book that people wither love or hate, so people will discuss.

A few random facts I found out while looking him up:

  • The Catcher in the Rye was originally rejected by publishers, but once published was an instant success. Selling 65 million copies since its publication
  • He studied a number of religions including: Hinduism, Christian Science, Scientology, and Zen Buddhism.
  • Salinger was drafted into the war in 1942 and during that time he met Ernest Hemingway.

I’m sure there are many more but those are the ones I found interesting. So as you can imagine in honour of his birthday I read The Catcher in the Rye for the first time and wrote a quick review.

the-catcher-and-the-rye

★☆☆☆☆

Hmmmm, what to say about this classic piece of literature…… I hated it. I originally rated this with two stars and then after thinking about it for a bit I decided it was a one star book for me. It isn’t often that I use to word hate for any book, but the more I think about it, the more I get annoyed.

So the quick summary plot since I’m sure many of you know the general idea of the book if you haven’t read it already. The very simple plot is: a young man, 16 years old is being expelled from another private school. The story is Holden Caulfield going back home, and his couple of days in the city before his parents find out. The novel is written from Caulfields point of view and is basically showing his observations of everyone he encounters.

So now for why I hated it, sorry guys for anyone who is a big fan, but Holden is the most annoying character I have ever read. He is just a cocky little s***, who walks around telling you how much better he is than everyone. Or just plainly how dumb everyone else is. The whole time I read this book I was frustrated because I wanted to slap him the entire time. I know it is relatively accurate to how teenagers talk but he repeats saying over and over and over, and it drove me nuts. None of this is really anything bad about the writing, it is only the story itself and the character. From what I have seen you either love or hate this book, and you can clearly see where I landed. I personally believe that the popularity of this book is because of the controversy around it. One of the reasons I was so interested, was to find out which group I would land in.

It was a short book so it’s a short review. In the end I hated the book, but didn’t hate the writing. So surprisingly I would try this author again.

Let me know what you guys thought of the book and if you guys like the idea of this sort of monthly blog post. I was pretty excited about the idea so I hope you guys liked it just as much.

 

18 thoughts on “On This Bookish Day: January 1st- J.D. Salinger is born”

  1. Love this idea! Hate Catcher in the Rye, I was one of the poor sods who had to study it at school. As a nerd, I always liked to read the books for school before we started studying them so I could form my own ideas about them without overanalysing too much. Holden is so annoying, my teacher informed me that it was probably a ‘boy thing’ as our class was all girls and so couldn’t really argue – but all in all, the whole thing just made me cross. All his rubbish was so adolescent angst filled, I’m getting mad just thinking about it! However, it is a classic, so I’m glad I read it and can have an opinion about it 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahah I do like the idea behind this post. The one where the author met Ernest Hemingway was pretty interesting. I wonder if there was any influences of Salinger on Hemingway’s stories.

    Quite unfortunate that the kid only managed to annoy you. However, I totally understand. His way of seeing life is… something! Great review. 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

