My 2017 Reading Goals

The new year stands before us, like a chapter in a book, waiting to be written. We can help write that story by setting goals.

Melody Beattie

Okay, so I usually don’t do a whole lot for reading goals, but this year I have a few things I want to work on. Some pretty specific and others just trying to do better. I don’t know about you guys, but I don’t take my own reading goals to seriously. This would be why I don’t really do TBRs….. I won’t stick to them, at all.

Finish previously started series.


I was going through my read list on Goodreads and realised that I have a ton of started series that I never finished. It wasn’t that I didn’t like the book and decided to leave it, I really enjoyed them but never seemed to go back. I have a habit of reading an authors most popular work and not going back whether I liked it or not. I really shouldn’t be judging based on one piece of work especially if I thought it was good, seems I should continue. So I came up with a list of all unfinished series that I was actually enjoying, and I have quite the project here:

  • The Golden Compass
  • Divergent
  • Harry Potter
  • The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
  • Cinder
  • Persepolis
  • Coalwood Way
  • Wolf Brother
  • Sherlock Holmes

60 Books Total


My good reads goal I’m upping this year to 60 books, but now that I have discovered graphic novels and manga, I’m aiming for 40 of those books to be book not including either of those.

17,000 Pages


I have never thought about it this way before, but since I got my Goodreads yearly wrap-up e-mail, I’m looking at it a little different. I read a little over 15,000 last year and wasn’t sure how much to add so I picked an extra 2,000. We will see if that was anywhere near reasonable.

6 Classics


My list of classics is just sad, so I feel like I need to push myself to do better. I even enjoy the classics that I have read just never seem to pick them.

15 Non-Fiction


I read quite a few memoirs but I think I could always do a bit better. I believe I read 10 last year so this shouldn’t be to much of a push. Especially considering I got a couple for Christmas this year. Yay!!!!

Read More Diversely


This one is so hard to measure, but I still want to do better with it. I noticed this last year that almost all the authors I read were american or european, and that just seems like I’m missing out.

 

Wish me luck guys!! And let me know what you guys are trying to achieve this year.

11 thoughts on “My 2017 Reading Goals”

    1. It just seems to be getting a little out of control. A couple of them like The golden compass I read the first one when I was probably 14. So now I have decided to listen to the audio book because I don’t really reread but then I can remember what was going on.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

