Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder

★★★★☆

This is a YA book that is not by any means new and still remains extremely popular. After reading it I am completely on board with this series. This is a fairy tale retelling of Cinderella but in this version, Cinder is a cyborg mechanic. So, not your typical fairy tale. There is still the wicked stepmother and step sisters, but the fairy tale aspect is more in the background I found for this novel. There is an epidemic as well as an intergalactic struggle going on amongst the traditional Cinderella story.

I will admit that I wasn’t expecting to really like this book. I know that this entire series has gotten amazing reviews especially on Booktube. But to be honest, I’m just not a big fan of YA. I find they usually have boring superficial love stories that I just don’t care about, and they are always completely unbelievable situations for teenagers to be in. Maybe it is because it was a Cinderella retelling. But the fact that the main character is 16 didn’t bother me for this story and the love story isn’t the main point which I liked. I will probably never read a romance novel; I avoid them like the plague. I was completely absorbed into this book right from the get go (I read most of this book in one day). Like most YA the story is very fast paced and very plot driven. But they give you a bit more story than most youth novels I found. It isn’t completely action based but it isn’t surrounded a love triangle (my biggest pet peeve, because THEY NEVER HAPPEN!!). Obviously there is a romance in it because this is Cinderella, but it’s not the whole point of the book. There is a plot twist in the book (no spoilers don’t worry) but to be honest I saw it coming pretty early on in the story, but it didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the book.

One main selling point for young girls is the fact that it isn’t a story with a helpless girl who needs a man to come in and save her. I know my mom hated that about Disney stories when I was growing up. But Cinder is a mechanic, and I loved that she did a typically male job. She wasn’t looking to meet the prince and get married, for him to rescue her from her horrible life. She was planning her own way out of her situation and I liked that too. I guess that’s a bit of the feminist coming out in me, but I think that’s a much better role model for young women. They read about women who work their asses off to get what they want.

This is a novel that is marketed towards teenage girls, but I really enjoyed it. As an adult I would definitely recommend this. It has a way of entertaining you while at the same time bringing back old memories from your childhood.

Let me know what you guys think

3 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer”

Leave a Reply

