Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson

furiously-happy

★★★★☆

This book for me was very well done if you haven’t heard of Jenny Lawson yet you are missing out – I would definitely recommend both of her books to you. Her first memoir is called Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. In a nutshell it’s her quirky story of life so far, real life struggles with a funny twist on it all. I know with that little recap it sounds like pretty much every memoir around these days. I think I have read my fair share of memoirs, but this one stands out from the crowd. The personal anecdotes made me laugh out loud, and not many books can acheive this. So as you can imagine when the second book came out I was excited to get my hands on it…. But not at full price, I waited for a sale. The second book definitely has the same tone and humour as the first but it’s primary focus is on her life living with mental illness.

I must admit I am not someone who is very familiar with mental illness. In theory, yes, I know what it is all about. But in reality I have no friggin’ clue what it’s like to actually live with it. Jenny puts an amazing spin on anxiety, depression, ADD, and sleep disorders. Yes, they can be horrible. Yes, they can be completely debilitating. But yes, you can also get through it. Now after I have reread that sentence it sounds like this book is going to be this majorly heroic tale of her overcoming servere depression. To be honest in a way it is; she really learnt how to work with her problems. But the focus in this book isn’t overcoming hardships; it’s looking back at scary, sad, stressful days that were hard and finding the humour in it all. For example, inviting live kangaroos over to your house ( not a spoiler it’s in the synopsis), which seems like crazy talk – but the more you read the more you think “yeah I could totally see her doing that, and I’m not sure she wouldn’t do it again”.

All in all, I would say this book is more feminine but that’s not to say that a man wouldn’t love this book just as much; hey who doesn’t enjoy a good laugh. This is just a great book to cheer you up and hey maybe you’ll learn something while you’re at it.

Let me know what you think

5 thoughts on “Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson”

  1. You have lived with mental illness because you have lived with me.
    You haven’t lived in it though.
    I love that you love books.
    I have always enjoyed your humour and I’m glad that you are finally going to share it with a broader audience.
    Love Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

